RSS Feed

Yoga lingo

One of the fears of yoga is the lingo.  Sanskrit is after all, another language.  The most common in classes are probably these 5.

  1. Namaste – nama ‘bow’, as ‘I’, te, you – loosely translated, means ‘I bow to you’  The gesture represents the belief that there is a Divine spark within each of us.  It is acknowledgment of the soul in one by the soul in another.
  2. Asana – Literally, it means ‘seat’ or ‘sit’ as in to ‘sit in a posture that is relaxed but firm’ So taking that a bit further to mean ‘pose’ or ‘posture’
  3. Yoga – of course – this one is easy – yoga is the union of body, mind, and spirit.  The whole package of connection.
  4. Shanti – Peace.  Often chanted at the end of practices as ‘om shanti shanti shanti’ Shanti is chanted three times to represent peace in body, speech and mind.
  5. OM – is one of the most important spiritual symbols, it represents ultimate reality, entirety of the universe, truth, divine, supreme spirit, cosmic principles, knowledge.  The cosmic YES.

There you have it!





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: